Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 5th, 2017

For the life of me, I don’t get how people can justify their exalting of Donald Trump. They firmly believe that he alone will “save” our country from evil. What evil you ask? Anything that goes against their personal beliefs never mind all of the things the president has done and continues to do that go against their beliefs too.

 

I just watched a clip of Rick Joyner telling how God will destroy anyone who stands in Trump’s way. He named out groups of people who have been unfaithful and who he says will perish because they have turned against God’s will of Trump as president. Oh please. Cue Jim Bakker and ‘mush in a bucket’ for the end times…

 

And you too can have mush in a bucket of 283 servings in a 6 gallon bucket, that’s 28 pounds for the AMAZING deal of $392. Please allow 4-6 weeks for delivery.

But wait…there’s more…

For the AMAZING low price of $10,976 you can receive 10,472 servings of food.

Sigh and eye roll.

 

What happened to our brains? Why aren’t we using them? We have lost the ability to see con’men’ for what and who they really are.

 

Not sure if I told this story before. It was after the Jim Jones incident at Jonestown in 1978. I tried to be aware of fly-by-night preachers and people in general who wanted to “sell” things (sometimes they were “free”). What they were saying just didn’t add up. I was in graduate school at the time and a friend of ours wanted us to go hear a guy at the local Holiday Inn conference room in Athens. Ok. I really didn’t want to go but we didn’t have anything planned so about 6 of us went. The preacher talked about how God’s will was for people to prosper in wealth…much wealth…cited Bible verses…showed off his wealth, rings, pictures of cars, houses, etc. I felt like I was at one of those realtor show places where they try to get people to buy into the market. The deal was too good to be true. He kept saying how everyone should be wealthy if they just had faith.

 

As he talked, I looked at the rest of the group and shook my head. They agreed. This wasn’t a good choice. Four of us wanted to leave but two wanted to wait until the end. I had a bad feeling but I said ok. As we approached the closing the preacher became more charismatic and said everyone must come to the front of the room – one at a time – and speak in tongues. Oh Lordy, here we go. I laughed because I had a feeling this was coming. We watched a few people obey. I was debating my choices. As he got closer to where we were sitting, I stood up and said – NOPE! and led the group out of the room. I wasn’t going to stay. It was a con job.

 

Too often we become so close to the problem that we lose all objectivity and can’t see from anyone else’s perspective. We get so entrenched that we lose ourselves and go with the flow of the crowd. If you have ever been in a huge crowd like a concert or such, you know that you have to move with the crowd to avoid being trampled. This is what has happened. The crowd is so huge and so close to the issue that there is no objectivity. Had I not stood up that evening and said we were leaving, many in the group would have gone through with the charade just to appease the preacher and I use that term very loosely.

 

I’m amazed at how firm a grip this charismatic movement of today has taken over much of the country. I used to blog about it. It’s like watching cattle go to slaughter but knowing their fate and still choosing it. The Jim Jones tale has always haunted me. A friend of mine lost someone there. It’s very painful for her to talk about even today and rightfully so. People spoke up about that cult. It was easy to see the group as separate but that isn’t the case today. People speak up about what’s going on but these views such as from Joyner, Bakker, Graham, Robertson, etc are so accepted that the voices aren’t being heard and they are attacked from people such as this group and their followers. It’s like the country is being held hostage. I’m still waiting for reality to reappear but I’m not confident that will happen in my lifetime.

 

Happy Gardening and let’s be good to each other! 🙂

Read Full Post »

