Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 7th, 2012

Four-leaf clover from wikipedia-a sign of good luck

I had a doctor’s appointment yesterday that did not go very well, but my situation is not as bad as someone I know who has been having a lot of problems lately. It turns out that she has brain and lung cancer! Please pray for her as she has a long uphill battle and with what I know about those two, I know her future looks a little bleak. She needs all of the support she can get. Her results make mine look pale in comparison.

I have been feeling sickly for the past several months and had some signs that things were not right, so when I went for my January appointment my doctor ordered a battery of blood tests. With all that has been going on I had forgotten to check to see what the results were until I was there yesterday. I love our new doctor but their office is not always on top of things. At least I now have a doctor that cares unlike the last one who was more interested in how much more money he wanted from people and didn’t think he should give any more of his services…

I have been taking phenytoin (link to wikipedia) or Dilantin (brand name) since 1970—for 42 years of my life—except during my pregnancies. This is the only drug that controls my seizures so we have stuck with it though there are risks and side effects. One of those risks is damage to the liver. I have my blood tested at least once a year to see if everything is ok. My blood tests are always great even when I am feeling my worst…until my last draw. I have not had these problems before so I know little about them. My doctor said that my vitamin D level should range from 30-100 in whatever measurement. Mine was 5.7! Yes, that is right. It was 5.7. That is awful! Given that I eat plenty of foods containing Vit D and “get sun,” there seems to be a bigger problem. Also, I was extremely deficient of vitamin B-12, too. The doctor ordered me to take supplements, gave me a B-12 shot, and I am set to retest in 3 months. Scary.

Armed with this news, I sat down at the computer and checked to see what would cause this. Lo and behold, both can be caused by the phenytoin/Dilantin that I take for the seizures which occur due to my brain AVM. I don’t want to get too alarmed but this may be a sign that my liver is breaking down. This is not a good thing! Now, there are other considerations like I’m just not absorbing the vitamins which could mean that my intestines just aren’t working right or that there may be something wrong with my kidneys or something as bad as cancer, etc. Whatever it is, this is not good news. I knew something was not right and this was before my latest situation came into play. Who knows what results would be NOW?

Things just seem to get worse as each day goes on, but I cannot let all of this get me down-though I have some very down moments. Monday morning, Simon-our cat-jumped on top of the pie case and would not come down. Skipping the entire charade to give the end results—-Simon broke the tv cable (where it was attached to the cable box) when he finally jumped down, I fell and hurt myself (and tore a hole in my pants), my portable oxygen tank fell over too (that was the culprit of the hole), and last but sure not least, a mirror was brokenYes, I broke the mirror! What can I say? Now, I have an excuse for all the bad luck I’m having? Well, things seem to continue but I can’t say too much bad because I am just so thankful!!!

I hope your Wednesday is looking up and the rest of your week gets even better. Happy Gardening!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Read Full Post »